shutterstock_300390818

Serenity Recovery

Serenity Recovery is an inpatient drug and alcohol rehabilitation facility in Michigan, offering intensive residential treatment options for individuals struggling with debilitating substance abuse problems. The goal of the Serenity Recovery treatment program is to keep clients focused on their short-term and long-term recovery goals, and teach them how to ignore or redirect their urges into something healthy and positive, rather than turning to drugs or alcohol. Serenity Recovery substance abuse rehab in Michigan offers a variety of treatment programs and supplemental services designed to help clients identify the underlying causes of their addiction problems, and learn the skills they need to return to their lives as healthy and productive members of society.

Treatment at Serenity Recovery

According to the Serenity Recovery website, inpatient treatment for substance abuse disorders can teach clients how to cope with the stresses of everyday life without relying on drugs or alcohol to get by. It involves living in a specialized rehabilitation facility where treatment is personalized – meaning each client’s recovery plan is developed with his or her individual treatment needs in mind – and where clients are able to share common experiences with people who are coping with the same issues. Among the treatment services available at Serenity Recovery are:

  • Substance abuse education
  • SMART Recovery
  • Cognitive Behavioral Therapy
  • Motivational Enhancement Therapy
  • Rational Emotive Behavioral Therapy
  • Life skills training
  • Individual counseling
  • Group counseling
  • Music exploration
  • Communication skills training
  • Gender-specific treatment

Serenity Recovery Reviews

Chemical dependency can be a difficult problem to overcome, but seeking treatment in a safe and compassionate environment where clients have access to comprehensive recovery services and additional guidance, tools and assistance based on their own recovery needs, can make it much easier. Serenity Recovery, for instance, is committed to helping clients take responsibility for their addiction, and learn the life skills they need to overcome their chemical dependency and achieve lasting sobriety. As one Serenity Recovery reviewer puts it in a comment posted on the Michigan rehab’s Facebook page, “[It’s] easier to lie to yourself and loved ones than to face the truth. But an inpatient facility [like Serenity Recovery] really can help! Take back control of your life!”

WRITE A REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Recent Reviews

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 2 February 2017

When I started using drugs I didn’t think I would ever need rehab. I had deluded myself into thinking that I could just use the pain pills occasionally and that I’d be fine just like that. It took me a while from when I first started using them to where I was completely addicted and couldn’t function without them but it did happen. When I realized how bad my addiction was I went to my parents for help. They have been pretty amazing through this whole cycle of going to rehab, relapsing and then going to another rehab. The first place I went to was just a detox and it wasn’t a bad place. I thought if I could just get off the drugs I’d be fine. That wasn’t the case though and I relapsed almost right away. The second place I went to was an actual rehab and I hated it. As much as I knew I needed help I just couldn’t get over how much I hated the place. My mom convinced me to stay through the whole program but I didn’t like it there and when I finished the program I relapsed almost right away again. When my parents found Serenity Point Recovery I really liked it. I had done the same sort of rehab program at each of the rehabs I had been to and obviously they didn’t work. So having a facility with different programs really appealed to me. When I got to Serenity the differences were major. The place looked nice and comfortable and the staff I worked with were helpful, there when I needed them and I didn’t feel like I was being judged the whole time. I got to do a program that I chose. Rehabs and addicts are like puzzle pieces. You have to match up the correct program with the addict or they just don’t fit. Serenity, because they have different programs there is able to fit together the right program for each client that goes there. At Serenity I got to do art therapy, music therapy, I got to try yoga. Yoga is really helpful by the way. When I started doing yoga my days got better, I could concentrate more and I felt better. I also got to go off property on the weekends and those days were a blast. At Serenity I learned what my life could be like without drugs and it was so much better than my life with drugs. I can’t stress enough the difference between the people working at Serenity and the people I’ve dealt with at the other rehabs I’ve been to. At Serenity the staff were there when I needed them. Everyone working there wants to help you and when I say everyone I do mean everyone. The cooks are there to help people just as much as the counselors and it makes the feel of the whole place that much better. Before going to Serenity I was lost. I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life except maybe get off drugs. Now, I know what I want my life to be like and I’m doing what I need to do in order to have that life. I can’t believe how great my relationship with my parents has been. We get along better now than ever and I am so lucky to have them in my life. I wouldn’t have found Serenity Point Recovery if it wasn’t for them and going there has been the best thing for me.

by: Melanie READ REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 18 January 2017

It took a few months for my daughter to finally agree to go to Serenity. After a friend of mine recommended the facility it seemed like such a great place for my daughter to go. When she did finally agree to go I was so happy. She agreed to not only do the program but really try to get everything out of it that she could, not just breeze through it like she had done at previous rehabs. The staff at Serenity were amazing. They were so good with my daughter and I. I was kept informed regularly on my daughter’s progress through the program and when she was having a bit of trouble the staff brought me into the discussion with my daughter and I was able to help convince her to keep going and stick it out. After that my daughter did amazingly well on her program. She worked hard, really doing the program. Since she’s come home she has been doing really well. The day after coming home she went to her first meeting. The day after she started looking for work and found a job that she really enjoys. She hasn’t messed up at work at all. Making it on time every day she works and being respectful to her boss and co-workers. I’m continually impressed with the way my daughter has handled everything since being home. I’m starting to really trust her again and it is really all due to the program and the people at Serenity who helped her get through that program.

by: Hillary READ REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 17 November 2016

I will be forever grateful to Serenity Point Recovery for helping my daughter with her drug problem. My granddaughter came to live with my husband and I when my daughter started using drugs and I believe my daughter thought that she would be able to get her life back together fairly quickly and then she’d have her daughter back. It didn’t turn out that way and my husband and I were getting really worried that we’d be the ones raising our granddaughter. My daughter came to see her daughter a lot when she was living with us but because we wouldn’t allow her to come if she was getting high we were never sure if she’d come or not. It was really starting to mess with my granddaughter and so my husband and I decided that she wouldn’t be allowed back until she had gone to and completed a rehab program. I was skeptical about Serenity when my daughter first went there. I knew she’d be fine the first couple weeks but that after that she would start to have some trouble with being there. She’s detoxed herself so many times that just going through detox wouldn’t be hard for her. After the detox portion of the program when was I knew she would start having trouble. I was right in that. A couple weeks after getting there she decided she didn’t like it there and didn’t want to finish her program. She was trying to convince her father and I that just going through detox helped and she’d do much better if she just came home. The reason I was skeptical about Serenity is the staff they have there who have abused drugs themselves in the past and were working there now. I didn’t think it was a good idea to have them working in a rehab but it was one of these staff members who talked to daughter and helped her realize that she truly needed to complete the program not for anyone else but herself. It changed the way she looked at everything she did while there and that changed everything for her. After that she did really well on her program. She still had bad day but she handled them differently. She talked to someone about it and worked through her problems instead of just burying them. My husband and I made the decision when she went that we wouldn’t go to visit her while she was there. We love her and wanted her to do well but we felt it was important to not disrupt our granddaughter’s life any more than it was disrupted by not seeing her mom. Because of this when she came home after graduating the change was really drastic to my eyes. She was healthy looking and was genuinely happy. She stayed home for a couple months and then went back to work there. She has decided to go back to school to get a degree so she can be of even more help and I couldn’t be prouder of her. She working really hard so that her daughter can go back to living with her. Really, I don’t think I could have imagined anything better than what we got from Serenity.

by: June Harris READ REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 10 November 2016

I got so much help at Serenity. Not just with my addiction but with every part of my life. My daughter has been staying with my parents and I am finally on the road to getting her back for good. I don’t think I’d be this far along with everything if it wasn’t for the time I spent there. My parents have always worked with me to make sure that I could see my daughter while she’s at my parents. I know some parents wouldn’t do that and would just take over. I got lucky with my parents working with me instead of against me with my daughter. Once a week as long as I was clean they would let me stay with them so I could be with my daughter. They didn’t want the risk of me getting high at their house with my daughter there so I wasn’t allowed to stay more than 2 nights with them. As much as it hurt to leave my daughter I understood their decision and was okay with it. I didn’t want to relapse around my daughter either and I knew there was a chance of that if I was living there. The problem wasn’t that I couldn’t get clean. I could fairly easily actually. When I did relapse, I wouldn’t use for very long. A week maybe. I just couldn’t stay clean for any length of time. I would get myself clean or go to a detox if I needed it and stay clean for a month or so but after a while I would relapse. Finally, this last time I relapsed my parents told me that until I went to a rehab and completed the program I wouldn’t be allowed around my daughter. I started looking right away and when I found Serenity my parents thought it looked good and agreed to help me get there. 2 weeks after I got to Serenity I had a bit of a breakdown. When I was home, even though I wasn’t living with my parents I saw my daughter all the time. Going 2 weeks without seeing her and knowing it was going to be an even longer time till I did messed me up pretty good. I was having a really hard time and just couldn’t deal with all of it. I ended up sitting down with a counselor there and talking to him for hours. I was some of the best spent hours of my life. I realized a few things during that talk the main thing being that I couldn’t get clean for my daughter. I needed to get clean for myself and I needed to take care of myself before I could even think about taking care of my daughter. After that, when I would go to the groups or classes I started thinking of them in terms of me and what I wanted to do. Not, I need to do this for my daughter but knowing that when I was doing well it would make my ability to take care of my daughter that much better. So, Serenity didn’t just help me get off drugs. They helped me realize that I needed help for me and that I needed to stay clean for me. I graduated from Serenity 4 months ago and I have been doing so good since then. I haven’t had a relapse and it’s the longest I’ve gone staying clean. More than that though, is that I’m earning the trust of my parents back and because of that I get to see my daughter more and more. I am taking care of myself and making sure I have what I need and because of that I am able to take care of my daughter better. I couldn’t be happier with how my life has changed since going to Serenity.

by: Nancy Harris READ REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 5 October 2015

Serenity Recovery really does a stand up job. Highly recommended to others seeking help the right way.

by: Brandon READ REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 16 September 2015

I would like to say that if you are researching which drug rehab facility you would like to send your friend or family member to, you should really look at Serenity Recovery. They use individually tailor made programs for their patients which use both holistic and drug therapies to help get the person through their detox and the rest of their program. They will help the person with developing coping mechanisms they can use once they leave the facility in order to operate on their own and make it less likely the person will suffer a relapse.

by: dc READ REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 15 September 2015

My best friend attended Serenity Recovery over the past few months, after being so worried about losing her, this place was the light all of our lives.

It was so helpful not only learning how to help her as a family, but ways to keep the disease of addiction out of our lives.

Thank you so much for all of your help!

by: Shantell Morrow READ REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 24 August 2015

“Serenity” is the best possible name for this center. The caring staff walked the tough journey of recovery right beside me the entire time and I really came to love all of them. Focusing on my recovery through whole-health wellness, I was not only treated, but was taught how to stay healthy in the future so I wouldn’t have to come back. It was an amazing experience that I wouldn’t trade for the world!

by: patrick.harden@gmail.com READ REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 24 August 2015

“Serenity” is the best possible name for this center. The caring staff walked the tough journey of recovery right beside me the entire time and I really came to love all of them. Focusing on my recovery through whole-health wellness, I was not only treated, but was taught how to stay healthy in the future so I wouldn’t have to come back. It was an amazing experience that I wouldn’t trade for the world!

by: patrick.harden@gmail.com READ REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 24 August 2015

“Serenity” is the best possible name for this center. The caring staff walked the tough journey of recovery right beside me the entire time and I really came to love all of them. Focusing on my recovery through whole-health wellness, I was not only treated, but was taught how to stay healthy in the future so I wouldn’t have to come back. It was an amazing experience that I wouldn’t trade for the world!

by: patrick.harden@gmail.com READ REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 24 August 2015

“Serenity” is the best possible name for this center. The caring staff walked the tough journey of recovery right beside me the entire time and I really came to love all of them. Focusing on my recovery through whole-health wellness, I was not only treated, but was taught how to stay healthy in the future so I wouldn’t have to come back. It was an amazing experience that I wouldn’t trade for the world!

by: patrick.harden@gmail.com READ REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 24 August 2015

“Serenity” is the best possible name for this center. The caring staff walked the tough journey of recovery right beside me the entire time and I really came to love all of them. Focusing on my recovery through whole-health wellness, I was not only treated, but was taught how to stay healthy in the future so I wouldn’t have to come back. It was an amazing experience that I wouldn’t trade for the world!

by: patrick.harden@gmail.com READ REVIEW

Serenity Recovery

Rated:
on 24 August 2015

“Serenity” is the best possible name for this center. The caring staff walked the tough journey of recovery right beside me the entire time and I really came to love all of them. Focusing on my recovery through whole-health wellness, I was not only treated, but was taught how to stay healthy in the future so I wouldn’t have to come back. It was an amazing experience that I wouldn’t trade for the world!

by: patrick.harden@gmail.com READ REVIEW